6 Comments
Apr 4, 2023Liked by Heather Murray

I don’t feel my age as an obstacle or motivator. I show up consistently in my art practice. That’s not to say that everything I put out is for public consumption. I think my visibility is directly linked to how I put myself out there. As an introvert, it drives my battery for visibility. Im comfortable using social media, although I detest algorithms!

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2023Liked by Heather Murray

To answer the rest of your question... I enjoy seeing art and connecting with an art community on social media. Flickr was my first online art community, then an online class and Facebook groups. Now Instagram links me to local artists and exhibitions.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2023Liked by Heather Murray

Age is a barrier in funding and art prizes here I think. One of the biggest art prizes (Ramsay) is open only to under forty year olds. Categories of emerging, mid career or established artists are probably independant of age but many of us don’t know where we fit in. There are many stages to work through in art and aren’t we always ‘emerging’ and renewing?

Expand full comment